Part 1

1. Virat (from the root Rajri to illuminate, with the prefix vi and suffix kwip added to it) signifies God, because He illuminates this multiform universe.

2. Agni (from the root anchu which signifies gati and worship. Gati means to know, to move or go, to realize) connotes God, because He is all-knowledge, Omniscient and worthy of adoration, fit subject to be known, sought after and realized.

3. Vishwa (from vish to reside) means God, because all the world and the worldly objects dwell in Him and He resides in all of them.

4. Hiranyagarbha (Hiranya - light and garbha - source) means One who is the source and support of all light and luminous bodies such as the sun. This is also substantiated by Yajur Veda , which says :-

" In the beginning was Hiranyagarbha - the One Lord of the creation. He sustains the sun and the earth. We adore Him - the all Blissful Being." YAJUR VEDA 13: 4.

5. Vaayu (from the root Va to move, to kill) means One who is the life and support of the Universe, the cause of its dissolution, mightier than the mightiest.

6. Taijas (from Teja to shine or enlighten) is One who is Resplendent and gives light to the sun and other luminous bodies.

M :

7. Ishwar (from Ish - power, knowledge) is One whose knowledge and power are infinite.

8. A'ditya (from a - not, do - to break, decay) is One who never dies or decays - is Immortal.

9. Prajna (from Pre - perfectly and Jna - to know) One whose knowledge is perfect, Who is Omniscient.

10. AUM AUM ' is the highest name of God; it is composed of three letters, A, U, M . This one name comprises many other names of God. Thus, briefly:-

A stands for Viraat, Agni and Vishwa, etc. .

U stands for Hiranyagarbha, Vaayu and Tajjas, etc.

M stands for I'shwara, A'ditya and Prajnaa, etc. Vedas and other true Shastraas, that whatever they treat of God; all these names stand for Him.

11. Mitra ( from nimid to love) means God, because He loves all and is worthy of being loved by all.

12. Varuna (from vri - good or vara - to desire) is One who is best, holiest of all and desired and sought after by all righteous, pious and learned men who are seekers after truth and salvation.

13. Aryama (from re to obtain, to go and ma to respect) isOne who respects oar honors the good and, the just, and punishes the wicked - The Great Judge who gives souls the fruits of their deeds, good or evil.

14. Indra (from Idi - power) is One who is all - powerful.

15. Vrihaspati ( pa - to correct or govern, Vriha - great) is One who is greatest among the great, and governs the entire universe.

16. Vishnu (Vishr - to pervade) is One who pervades all the universe, animate and inanimate.

17. Urukramaa ( uru - great, krama - energy) is One who possesses infinite energy.

18. Brahma (brih or brihi - to lord) is One who lords over all.

19. Bhumi is One who is the abode of all and greater than all.

20. Surya is One who is the life and light of the universe, animate or inanimate.

Popular posts from this blog

ब्रह्मचर्य और दिनचर्या

वैदिक धर्म की विशेषताएं 

अंधविश्वास : किसी भी जीव की हत्या करना पाप है, किन्तु मक्खी, मच्छर, कीड़े मकोड़े को मारने में कोई पाप नही होता ।